Unit 35: Second Edit

I took on board what my teacher said about keeping the editing pace short and instead of leaving the takes of each commercial to reach the end of the sentence, I cut them down so they were still relevant, but were much shorter than before. For example in the first edit I leave in the first shot of Anthony Sullivan holding up the ‘Sticky Buddy’ saying ‘it doesn’t matter’ but in this edit I remove that, it’s unnecessary.

In both edits, the idea of having the very ending scene with Anthony Sullivan saying ‘It doesn’t matter’ came from a friend of mine in the class. He originally said it as a joke but I saw it as a good idea because it reinforces the point of this video, the point being that these products are unnecessary and they don’t matter, yet people will crowd around to watch it anyway because they’re intrigued, despite the item being pointless.

Leave a comment